Quick Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Computer Science Faculty and Staff

Department Administration

Karonis, Nicholas
Chair
Professor
Ph.D., Syracuse University
karonis@niu.edu
Henry, George "Jim"
Assistant Chair
Associate Professor
Ed.D., Northern Illinois University
henry@cs.niu.edu
Zerwekh, Robert
Director of Graduate Studies
    and Graduate Advisor
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
zerwekh@cs.niu.edu
McIntire, Penny
Assistant to the Chair and Undergraduate Advisor
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
pmcintire@niu.edu

Faculty

Berezinski, John
Computer Science Systems Manager
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
berezin@cs.niu.edu

Brown, Georgia
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
gbrown@niu.edu

Byrnes, Amy
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
abyrnes@niu.edu

Decker, Geoffrey
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
decker@cs.niu.edu

Duffin, Kirk
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brigham Young University
duffin@cs.niu.edu

Ege, Raimund K.
Associate Professor
Ph.D, Oregon Graduate Institute for
Science & Technology
ege@niu.edu

Freedman, Reva
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University
rfreedman@niu.edu

Glickfeld, Barnett
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
bglickfeld@niu.edu

Hegde, Shankar
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Saskatchewan
shegde@niu.edu

Henry, George (Jim)

Associate Professor
Ed.D., Northern Illinois University
henry@cs.niu.edu

Hou, Minmei
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
mhou@niu.edu

Hutchins, Harry
Instructor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
t90hch1@cs.niu.edu

Karonis, Nicholas
Chair
Professor
Ph.D., Syracuse University
karonis@niu.edu



Leon, James
Instructor
Ed.D., Northern Illinois University
jimleon@cs.niu.edu

McIntire, Penny
Assistant to the Chair and Undergraduate Advisor
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
pmcintire@niu.edu

McMahon, Kurt
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
kmcmahon@niu.edu

Musich, Margie Brooks
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
mmusich@niu.edu

Önyüksel, Ibrahim
Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan
onyuksel@niu.edu

Papka, Michael
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
papka@niu.edu

Rush, Kaisone
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
krush@niu.edu

Wang, Yih-Chen (Steve)
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology
swang@cs.niu.edu

Yassin, Hania
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
yassin@cs.niu.edu

Winans, John
Instructor
M.S., Northern Illinois University
jwinans@niu.edu

Zerwekh, Robert
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
zerwekh@cs.niu.edu

Zhou, Jie
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Concordia University, Canada
jzhou@niu.edu

Emeriti and Retired Faculty

Angotti, Rodney
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Chung, Sei-Jong
Associate Professor, retired
Ph.D., University of Iowa
sjchung@cs.niu.edu

Davis, Kathi Hogshead
Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology
kdavis@cs.niu.edu


Jeffrey, H. Joel
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Colorado
jeffrey@cs.niu.edu

Rannie, Robert
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Penn State University
rprannie@gmail.com

Rickert, Neil
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Yale University
rickert@cs.niu.edu

Stack, Michael
Instructor, retired
M.S., Northern Illinois University
mstack@kcats.org