Quick Navigation

About Us

2010 IBM Programming Contest and Scholarship Competition

NIU - Computer Science, IBM Mainframe Contest and Scholarship


2010 IBM Master the Mainframe Contest

Registration for the 2010 IBM Master the Mainframe Contest is now open for students across the U.S. and Canada (excluding Quebec). This year, the IBM Academic Initiative System z team is giving away over $29,000 in prizes, including iPads, T-shirts, pre-paid debit cards and trips to the mainframe lab in Poughkeepsie, NY. No mainframe or large systems experience is necessary.

Contest homepage: ibm.com/university/contest

There is a link to a printable PDF flyer on the homepage. The contest, which begins on October 4, is an educational tool that progresses in difficulty and prize value as contestants complete hands-on tasks, logging into a remote mainframe system from their own workstations. The contest runs through December 28.

Students can access the simple registration form from the homepage, using either Professor Amy Byrnes, Professor Georgia Brown, or Dr. Robert Rannie as their NIU faculty contacts.

This year, the custom Master the Mainframe Contest T-shirt (the prize for being among the first 1,100 contestants to complete Part 1) will feature "tour dates" on the back, which will match the hometowns of the 50 schools that have the most registrants as of October 4. Students who complete Part 2 of the contest will also be invited to put their resumes into the Student Opportunity System, a recruiting tool for enterprise systems employers. IBM will be directing interested recruiters to link up with students through that system.

NIU's Department of Computer Science has had numerous winners and finalists in the past. We strongly encourage all of our students to enter.


Destination z Enterprise Computing Scholarship

This semester, the IBM Destination z community will be accepting student applications for the third annual Destination z Enterprise Computing Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to students at Destination z member schools (including NIU) who have demonstrated excellence in their mainframe coursework, and who plan to continue their academic and professional development on the platform. Last year's winners are posted here, and information on the 2010 scholarship will be posted on that page early in Fall 2010, including the application form.